Permanent Court of International Justice.—The Permanent Court of International Justice was established by the Protocol of Dec. 16, 1920, in accordance with Article 14 of the Covenant of the League of Nations. It is composed of a body of fifteen judges elected by the Assembly and Council of the League of Nations for a term of nine years, and sits at the Hague. The Court is competent to hear and determine any dispute of an international character which the parties thereto submit to it; it may also give an advisory opinion upon any dispute or question referred to it by the Council or the Assembly. Article 36 of the Statute of the Court provides that any State may recognize as compulsory the jurisdiction of the Court in all or any classes of legal dispute concerning:—

- (a) The interpretation of a Treaty.
- (b) Any question of international law.
- (c) The existence of any fact which, if established, would constitute a breach of an international obligation, and the nature and extent of the reparations to be made for the breach of the international obligation.

Canada has been a Member of the Court from its establishment, and in 1929 accepted, subject to certain reservations, the compulsory jurisdiction of the Court in the cases contemplated in Article 36.

The Budget of the League.—The expenditure of the League is covered by the contributions of States Members which are fixed in accordance with a scale which takes into account the population, area and public revenue of each State concerned. The Budget for the year 1936 was 28,279,901 gold francs, of which 19,259,251 francs were for the work of the Assembly, Council and Secretariat, 6,699,450 francs for the International Labour Office, and 2,321,200 for the Permanent Court of International Justice. A surplus in the preceding year of 1,488,442.47 gold francs reduced the net assessment against States Members for 1936 to 26,791,458.23 gold francs of which Canada's share is 35/931 of the total or 1,007,197.65 gold francs.

Membership of the League of Nations.—The 58 States which are Members of the League (November, 1935), are as follows:—

Abyssinia Afghanistan Union of South Africa Albania Argentine Republic Australia Austria Belgium Bolivia British Empire Bulgaria Canada Chile China Colombia Cuba Czechoslovakia

Finland
France
Greece
Guatemala
Haiti
Honduras
Hungary
India
Iraq
Irish Free State
Italy
Latvia
Liberia
Lithuania

Estonia

Norway
Panama
Paraguay\*
Persia
Peru
Poland
Portugal
Roumania
Salvador
Siam
Union of Soviet
Socialist Repu

Socialist Republics
Spain
Sweden
Switzerland

Switzerland Turkey Uruguay Venezuela Yugoslavia.

Denmark

Netherlands New Zealand Nicaragua

Luxemburg

United States of Mexico

Dominican Republic Ecuador

<sup>\*</sup> By a telegram sent May 23, 1934, Paraguay gave notice of her intention to withdraw from the League of Nations, in accordance with Article 1, paragraph 3, of the Covenant.